Group of 2010 and Group of 2012 share L D H Peiris Memorial Trophy

After having to postpone the event due to bad weather conditions, the Royal College Cricket Carnival 2017 was rescheduled to be held on the 29th of October 2017 at Bloomfield Grounds. 

The 2010 and 2012 Groups shared the L D H Peiris Memorial Trophy in the ‘Open Challenge’ final at the annual Royal College Cricket Carnival held at Bloomfield on October 29, 2017.  The two groups were declared joint-winners since the match had to be abandoned due to bad weather.  

Despite the rescheduling of the event due to bad weather conditions, this year saw 24 groups of Old Royalists, 33 teams and over 300 old boys taking part in this annual event, organized by the Group of 2001.  

The Group of 2003 annexed the Vijitha Weerasinghe Trophy in the 30-40 age category while the Group of 88 won the E C Gunasekara Trophy in the 40-55 category.  The 55+ final between the Group of 70 and Group of 74 had to be abandoned with the teams being declared joint winners.

The organizers worked tirelessly to ensure that all matches were completed and to make sure that everyone present, the players and spectators, enjoyed a wonderful day of friendly competition, comaradrie and good cheer at this much-looked-forward-to annual old boys’ event.